Honeymoon: Booked!

Yeah, we will be here in the fall.  Literally.  Right there.

It’s official: Ken and I are getting married at the Florida Aquarium in August.  Complete with penguins.  *insert girly squeals here*

I know, I know.  It’s so nontraditional.  But that’s precisely what we were aiming for.  I want nothing more than the backdrop of my ceremony to be sharks circling their tank, teeth jutting from their massive jaw.  It just seems cool to me, ok?  No judging here.  Not to mention, what’s cocktail hour with a friendly duo of penguins?

After booking the most amazing photographer ever, Jason Angelini, I was totally over the whole wedding planning thing.  It’s like a 4 hour event, people.  As long as there is open bar and the aforementioned penguins I think I will be good.  (I say this although I have started a new beauty regime and am attempting to grow my hair longer…heh.)

Do not even get me started on the dress selecting process…

So, once all of the major stuff was taken care of we moved onto the fun stuff: the honeymoon.

We narrowed our selection down to Greece or Bora Bora.  The Greek Islands are very high on my travel-to-do-list.  I mean Santorini?  C’mon.  It seems so romantic and beautiful.  But then there’s Bora Bora.  A literal tropical paradise complete with over-water bungalows.  So, we asked ourselves one question.

Which one is more romantic?  Eeeewwww.  I know.  But it’s our honeymoon so cut us some slack.

I never dreamed I would be able to go to Bora Bora.  I mean I’m all about luxury travel but this is on a whole ‘nother level.  And how the heck do you plan this one?!  I’ve never had need of a travel agent but after picking up lonely planet’s French Polynesia travel guide, we quickly decided we needed one.

After two weeks of emailing back and forth with our agent, it is done.  The flight(s) might kill me but we will arrive in Tahiti just in time to nap on the beach.  The following day we will fly – er puddle jump – to Moorea where we will do most of our excursions and swim with dolphins.  Our final stop is Bora Bora to relax in an over-water bungalow honeymoon style.  Originally we were like GET US TO BORA BORA but after some research we decided we need to do some island-hopping and, truth be told, I can’t ever just sunbathe for an entire vacation.  I like to experience as much as I can.  Maybe one day I will learn how to just relax on vacations.  Not this year!

We will be in Bora Bora just in time for the humpback whales to be migrating through the islands.  And although Ken hopes we see sharks, I am afraid I might pee myself.  Really.  Growing up on the East Coast I was taught sharks are something you swim away from.  Not towards.  

Needless to say, this trip prompted many goals on our 2014 bucket list.  We couldn’t be more excited for what 2014 has in store for us!

2 Comments

  1. Jenna says:

    Whoooaaa your blog is so different now and I luv it!!! Can't wait to see the hubby's post!

    Congrats on booking your dream trip! I swam with sharks in Mexico..for about 3 seconds and then I jumped right back on to the boat. I was so scared!

    Like

Leave a Reply

