A[nother] Day Downtown

I am happy to say that for once I have been neglecting my blog due to, well, actually living my life.  Thanks to the boyfriend I have been able to work diligently on actually crossing off everything on my bucket list this year.  It’s amazing how one person can change your life so much.

I pulled a number of items off of my Chicago Bucket List to accomplish this year.  (Who knows how long I will be living this close to Chicago…)  Everyone knows, Chicago is known for their hot dogs and Italian beefs.  I, personally, am a huge fan of a Chicago style hot dog – no ketchup here!  The boyfriend on the other hand, he does it all wrong.  But I relucatantly digress.  We stopped by Gold Coast Dogs for lunch, which in all reality was a snack.  Um, what can I say…I like to eat….

 #108. grab a hot dog from Gold Coast Dogs

When we walked up to Gold Coast Dogs I nearly turned back around and dragged Ken to the cute tavern down the street.  This so-called “Chicago tradition” was connected to a generic Popeyes!  WTF?!  But, I was convinced to give it a try.  Hey, it is just a damn hot dog after all.  I ordered a cheddar char dog.  Ken got a Chicago style char dog.  When we got our dogs I’ll admit I was a little confused.  The ends are cut making them look a little but funny…almost like squid.  But once I took a bite I realized we came to the right place.  I guess you really can’t judge a book by its cover.  One point for the boyfriend.

Just a couple months ago, we visited the infamous Skydeck at the Willis Tower.  The view of the city is incredible.  Although we went on a rather cloudy day, walking onto the “ledge” was still a great experience.  It had been years since I had done that – it may have even been while it was still called the Sears Tower.  This past weekend we ventured back downtown and visited the very similar Hancock Observatory.  The difference?  The view of the city and instead of a glass ledge they have an “skywalk”.  Luckily, it has warmed up a smidge here and the airwalk was tolerable.  I can’t imagine visiting the observatory in midsummer at sunset, it has got to be incredibly hot.  It was toasty up there when it was only 40 degrees so I can’t even imagine.

We hadn’t planned on grabbing drinks, but we seem to always find a way to booze it up.  We figured while we were in the Hancock we might as well check out the Signature Room lounge again.  The last time we went we were just a couple tables away from the floor to ceiling glass and we vowed to go back until we got a window seat.  Well, this time we got one!  And I don’t mean to brag, or maybe I do, but I am fairly sure we got the best table there.  I only say this because everyone wandering around taking pictures kept telling us so, and it was a perfect combination of city view and the lake.  But what made this time incredible was that we went just in time to watch the sunset – from the 95th floor of the Hancock!  Truly an amazing view!

Our last trip was to a Cajun restaurant that Ken loves.  I quickly saw why.  Heaven on Seven has character – and good food.  They had the best bloody Mary I have ever had.  And I’ve had quite a few.

 All in all, another amazing day downtown Chicago.  Now we just need the weather to warm up a little around here!

13 Comments

  1. Anonymous says:

    Good day! This is kind of off topic but I need some guidance
    from an established blog. Is it tough to set up your own blog?
    I'm not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty quick. I'm thinking
    about creating my own but I'm not sure where to start. Do you have any ideas or suggestions? Appreciate it

    My web page full movie for pc

    Like

  2. Anonymous says:

    Heya are using WordPress for your blog platform?
    I'm new to the blog world but I'm trying to get started and create my own.
    Do you require any coding expertise to make your own blog?
    Any help would be really appreciated!

    Also visit my homepage; Get Game backup system

    Like

  3. Anonymous says:

    After looking over a few of the blog posts on your web site, I
    truly appreciate your way of blogging. I saved it to my
    bookmark site list and will be checking back soon. Please check out my web site as well and tell me
    what you think.

    Feel free to surf to my webpage Vocal Training Online

    Like

  4. Anonymous says:

    Hello, i believe that i saw you visited my site so i got here to go back the prefer?

    .I am attempting to in finding things to enhance my site!
    I suppose its adequate to use some of your concepts!
    !

    Stop by my weblog … unlock the wii

    Like

  5. I would love to visit Chicago someday and that food looks great! Also, I love your blog & will def be following it from now on : ) I found it after starting a bucket list blog a few days ago and looking for other bucket list bloggers, if you want to check it out! I look forward to reading more of your posts

    Like

Leave a Reply

