Truvía® Natural Sweetener Product Review


We all know how quickly things can change from “healthy” to “unhealthy” as research becomes more readily available. As a kid, I never once thought about my sugar intake. Fast forward into teenage years and I started watching out for all the things that seemingly went straight to my backside. Now as an adult, I watch everything I eat and try to remain on a clean diet and eat mostly whole and natural foods.

A few years ago, you could find Splenda and other no-calories sweeteners in my pantry. Hey, I like to sweeten my coffee, tea, and the occasional desserts without all the added calories! but then I started hearing all of the adverse effects artificial sweeteners can cause. I was torn between calories and the risk of seizures. I chose seizures over a muffin-top. Sad, I know.

But then I found Truvia, an all-natural, no-calorie sweetener that fits perfectly into my daily routine. Best of all, it doesn’t have a terrible aftertaste like some sweeteners do. Guilt-free and it tastes good?! Count me in!

What is Stevia?Stevia is an herb or shrub in the sunflower family that grows in warmer climates in both North and South America. It is also commonly known as sweetleaf, sweet leaf, sugarleaf, or simply stevia, and is widely grown for its sweet leaves. Some of its extracts may have a bitter or licorice-like aftertaste at high concentrations. With its steviol glycoside extracts having up to 300 times the sweetness of sugar, stevia has garnered attention with the rise in demand for low-carbohydrate, low-sugar food alternatives. Because stevia has a negligible effect on blood glucose, it is a great natural sweetener for people on carbohydrate-controlled diets. You can read more about Stevia and its uses at Wikipedia.*


Sugar vs TruviaOne packet of Truvia natural sweetener provides the same sweetness as two teaspoons of sugar, without the calories.

Splenda vs TruviaYeah, I know, they are both no-calorie sweeteners. But the differences are vast. Splenda is artificial. Truvia is all natural. Most individuals prefer the taste of natural sweeteners to their artificial counterparts. And if that isn’t enough for you, check out these studies on the effects of Splenda in normal, healthy adults.

What can Truvia be used for?I use Truvia in everything I would use sugar or Splenda in. I wake up and pour a little bit in my coffee. I sprinkle it on my grapefruit. I enjoy it in my afternoon tea. I also love the new Baking Blend for all of my dessert needs – and it has 75% fewer calories than sugar.

If you haven’t tried Truvia yet,
I highly recommend you do.

Thank you, Influenster and Truvia, for providing me with a sample in your VoxBox.

*Notes from Wikipedia.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

