Book Review: Sweep Volume 2


From The Back-flap:

“Morgan Rowlands is a blood witch, the last of a long line of ancient and powerful witches and the holder of an unfathomable power. With the help of her love, her soul mate, Cal, she has realized her true self-but at a price. For Morgan and Cal share a terrible, dark secret; one that binds them together even as they are rend apart.

Yet there is something about Cal’s hunger for magick that frightens Morgan . . . And now there is another, one who can bring Morgan clarity, truth . . . love. Morgan must decide who is her true soul mate, and who is out to destroy her forever . . . “

After reading the first Sweep volume, I knew this would be another series I’d have to complete. This is second volume and it includes three books: Dark Magick, Awakening, and Spellbound. I really enjoyed the first volume but in this volume the characters and writing style seem to mature. I think I can safely say I liked this set even more than the first.

In Dark Magick, “Evil forces are after Morgan, forces connected with a dark wave of magick. And she knows something is wrong with the way Cal is acting, although she can’t put her finger on it. Cal is definitely hiding something, but is he out to hurt her, as Hunter says?” I love that Ms. Tiernan leaves us in the dark, wondering if Cal if friend or foe, without being overly deceptive and annoying. This was my favorite book so far.

In Awakening, “For now, Morgan is safe from the dark wave that has been attacking witches. Betrayed by her first love, she is trying to come to grips with her Woodbane heritage and with Wicca—its thorn and its rose.” I love how we’ve progressed from learning Wiccan basics to powerful, age-old dark magic. This book is also peppered with teenage heartbreak which normally grates on my nerves, but in this book it is rather well done. I read this book in one sitting!

In Spellbound, “Morgan knows that a great battle is to come. More immediately, she senses that someone is out to harm Hunter. Is it a human or a witch?” This book leaves you longing to read the next volume…and let me tell you, it only gets more exciting!

All in all, I thoroughly enjoyed the second Sweep volume and was excited to start the third. I don’t normally enjoy YA books but this series is a major exception for me. It’s well-written and exciting!

“There is darkness in light, there is pain in joy, and there are thorns on the rose.”


I would recommend this book for any YA lovers, or anyone who enjoys reading coming of age tales and sorcery. It’s a fun little volume!

My Rating:

You can check out my review of Sweep Volume 1 here.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

