Liven Up That Boring Water!

One of the biggest challenges I have had in the past with staying healthy is making sure to drink enough water. I’ve just never been one to drink a ton of fluids in one day. But now that I’ve found out how to add a little flavor to my boring old water I’ve been able to drink 3 eight ounce glasses a day, in addition to a green tea (or two!).

  1. Citrus
    Grapefruit, blood oranges, clementines, tangerines, lemon, lime, and oranges make delicious additions to your beverage!
  2. Cucumber
    The fresh flavor of cucumber has an awesome ability to improve the taste of even tap water. It’s light and refreshing, too.
  3. Cucumber Lime
    Sound strange? Perhaps it is, but this water is packed full of fresh flavor that is sure to leave you wanting more. I tried combining these flavors after my boyfriend introduced me to one of my favorite snacks: cucumber slices with lime juice drizzled over them and a pinch of salt.
  4. Edible Flowers
    What’s an edible flower you ask? Lavender flowers, nasturtium, chamomile, white ginger flowers, and the list goes on. I love adding a few honeysuckle flowers atop my water in the warmer months for a refreshing drink – or cocktail.
  5. Ginger
    If zing is your thing, ginger would be a great addition. Add a slice to cold water for added spice or add to boiling water to clear your throat or sinuses during a cold.
  6. Lemon
    A classic, lemon water offers a subtle sour flavor to your water. Sometimes I squeeze some juice into my water and then pop the slices in my glass. Other times I just add lemon sliced to my glass and let the water soak up the flavor in the fridge for an hour or two. Not a fan of sour? You can add a stevia packet or agave nectar.
  7. Mint
    Spearmint or peppermint leaves can add a subtle, wonderful taste to boring, old water but make sure you bruise the leaves so they can release plenty of flavor. Spearmint is the more subtle of the two. Other herbs, such as lemongrass and parsley are also fun choices.
  8. Muddled Fruits
    In the summer, I love muddling berries in the bottom of my glass to add a sweet, natural enhancement to my water.
  9. Tea
    I love hot tea in the colder months and cold tea in the warmer months. Sometimes I even drink a glass two or three times a day. My favorite brands include: Celestial Seasonings, Yogi, and Stash. Whether you want a traditional English tea, a fruity twist on an old favorite, or to recreate a healthy version of Starbucks Chai tea, there’s something for everyone.

If you want two mix it up and try fun new flavor combos I highly recommend: lime & cucumber, lemon and goji berries, strawberry & spearmint, cucumber & ginger, or crushed raspberries & lemon.

Looking for more subtle flavors? You can boil a small pot off water and add any of these ingredients. Allow water to cool and pour into ice cube trays. Once frozen add these flavorful cubes to a glass of water and enjoy the surprisingly delicate flavors.

4 Comments

Leave a Reply

