Book Review: Sweep Volume 1

From The Back-flap:

“Morgan Rowlands never thought she was anything other than a typical sixteen-year-old girl. But when she meets Cal, a captivatingly handsome coven leader, she makes a discover that turns her whole world upside down: she is a witch, descended from an ancient and powerful line. And so is Cal. Their connection is immediate and unbreakable; Cal teases out Morgan’s power, her love, her magick. But Morgan discovers too soon that her powers are strong – almost too powerful to control. And she begins to suspect that Cal may be keeping secrets from her . . . secrets that could destroy them both.”

This is the first book in Cate Tiernan’s Sweep series – 5 books in total, with the 5th book coming out December 8, 2011. (I already have that one pre-ordered, of course!) These books now come in volumes, with 3 books in each. The books don’t normally exceed 180 pages each. My only problem? Reading all 4 volumes before writing a single review. I got a wee bit carried away! These books are magical, I tell you!

The first book in this volume is the Book of Shadows. In this book we are introduced to Morgan, the main character and the rest of the lot. This book delves into the ideas of Wicca and how a young teen may find herself thrust into a world she hadn’t dreamed of but a world she has quickly come to love. The world of Wicca. We get a great introduction to Wicca ideas and holidays right along with Morgan and her friends. This book quickly gets right into fantasy and will leave you wanting more.

The second book in this volume is The Coven. In this book we get a better depth of the main characters, their strengths and weaknesses. We also continue to learn plenty about Wicca and what it takes to become a witch. I love seeing the difficulty Morgan has with exploring Wicca while remaining a practicing Christian. And, of course, its chalked full of plenty of romance and action. We see more of the teenage love between Cal and Morgan, but is Cal really all that he says he is?

The third book is Blood Witch. In this book we get even more intimate with the characters and pull away from learning of blood lines and Wiccan beliefs and see a little bit more tension and conflict between characters. The action really picks up in this book. This one is really fast-paced and fun.

All in all, I loved all three books. They’re fun reads, especially if you enjoy YA and daydreaming about magic. I thought Ms. Tiernan was very creative in that before every chapter there is a note or diary entry from different characters, letting us have a glimpse at the thoughts of characters other than Morgan.

The Sweep series would be a great read for young adults and adults alike! The stories are relatively short but extremely well-written and the volumes are the perfect way to read three books in succession.

My Rating:



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: