Book Review: Spellbound


From The Back-flap:

What’s a girl to do when meeting The One means she’s cursed to die a horrible death?

Life hasn’t been easy on sixteen-year-old Emma Connor, so a new start in New York may be just the change she needs. But the posh Upper East Side prep school she has to attend? Not so much. Friendly faces are few and far between, except for one that she’s irresistibly drawn to—Brendan Salinger, the guy with the rock-star good looks and the richest kid in school, who might just be her very own white knight.

But even when Brendan inexplicably turns cold, Emma can’t stop staring. Ever since she laid eyes on him, strange things have been happening. Streetlamps go out wherever she walks, and Emma’s been having the oddest dreams: visions of herself in past lives—visions that warn her to stay away from Brendan. Or else.”

If a light, young adult book is what you are looking for then this would be a great book for you. However, if you’re looking for a magical book to lose yourself in, I wouldn’t recommend this one. I will admit I thought this book would have a lot more to do with magic and witches, what with a title like Spellbound. I was wrong. Very wrong.

Spellbound is a sweet little story of two teenagers destined to be together after thousands of years of being plagued by the family’s curse. This curse being that their two souls would find each other only to fall madly in love… only to have this magical, undying love end with tragedy every time.

I found myself feeling very childish while reading the dialogue. Ms. Shultz managed to get in a few funny lines but I felt like most of the interaction fell flat. Some of the would-be witty banter seemed stale after the first 50 pages. Or perhaps the childish humor just didn’t appeal to me personally.

I wouldn’t say this book was terrible, I just feel that being 23 this book was rather immature for me. The whole fairy tale lovers destined to be together doesn’t really appeal to me much either. But if you enjoy the notion of star-crossed and reincarnated lovers that fall head over heels in love at first sight, then give this short novel a try.

“I longed to know what it felt like to have one person eclipse everything bad in your life – be a place of pure joy.”


Honestly, I’d recommend this book for a much younger audience…perhaps 12 year olds? It appears most people really enjoyed this book – after reading some rave reviews on GoodReads – but it just wasn’t for me.

My Rating:

Thanks, NetGalley, for allowing me to review this book.

7 Comments

  1. Brooke says:

    I was not exactly enamored with this novel either. I agree that it might be wonderful for a much younger audience but it is hard to tie in the whole star-crossed-lovers idea without getting ridiculous. Great review!

    Like

Leave a Reply

