Book Review: Guilty Pleasures


From The Back-flap:

“Monica Vespucci was wearing a button that said, “Vampires are People, too.” It was not a promising beginning to the evening. Her hair was short and expertly cut; her makeup, perfect. The button should have tipped me off to what kind of bachelorette party she’d planned. Some days I’m slow to catch on.

I was wearing black jeans, knee-high boots, and a crimson blouse, long-sleeved to hide the knife sheath on my right wrist and the scars on my left arm. I’d left my gun locked in the trunk of my car. I didn’t think the bachelorette party would get that out of hand…”

Oh, where to begin. I am obviously slow to start the Anita Blake series, but better late than never, right folks?

I’ll be honest. The first 20 or so pages I was a tad skeptical. But once I progressed further into the book I read the whole thing in one sitting. Thank you, Ms. Hamilton for keeping me up way past my bedtime. I had figured the title “Guilty Pleasures” was referring to pleasures that made one feel guilty, but I’m realizing the trend with the titles. I guess both Anita and I are slow to catch on some days. This is the name of the vampire club. Clever.

Another misconception I had was that all Laurell K Hamilton books were nothing but smut. (I know, I know, I picked it up anyways. No comment.) But this book had not one sex scene. Was I disappointed? Maybe, maybe not.

The main character, Anita Blake, is a petite little firecracker. She doesn’t like to leave her apartment without packing heat – and lots of it – what with all those nasty vampires and ghouls out there. And trouble is unavoidable with her job as an Animator aka necromancer. The vampires of St. Louis and their want to “mainstream” have left her scarred and a little feisty.

” …His voice was silken whispers in the small hours of the night. Damn, he was good.

‘Have you ever wondered what it would be like to feel my breath upon your skin? My lips along your neck. The harsh brush of teeth. The sweet, sharp pain of fangs. Your heart beating frantically against my chest. Your blood flowing into my veins. Sharing yourself. Giving me life. Knowing that I could truly not live without you, all of you.’ “

I would recommend this book to anyone who likes a nice, creepy paranormal novel peppered with wittiness and sarcasm- or any fellow vampire lovers.

My Rating:

I’ve already started reading the second book in the rather large Anita Blake series, The Laughing Corpse!

9 Comments

  1. Tiffany says:

    The books are funny because the first 6 there is NO sex to be found…then it changes into the opposite. But I can handle smut every once in a while and I've read the first 16 in this series…they're hard to keep up with there's so many!!!!

    Like

  2. Mikaela says:

    I am terrible about sticking with series but I've read most of these and enjoyed them – they do get smutty though as everyone mentioned!

    I noticed you are reading the Sweep series and I can't wait to see your reviews. C=

    Like

Leave a Reply

