Baked Potato Soup V2.0

It was feeling a lot like fall for us here so I went into broth-based-dinner overdrive. I busted out my soup, chili, warm and cozy dinners…and then it warmed up into the 80’s again. (Thanks, Mother Nature!)

But the weather warm-up did not stop me from forcing my sweaty boyfriend to come home after a long day of work in the sun and eat a bowl of my hot, baked potato soup. We don’t waste any food around here! (Hey, I never claimed to be a sweet girlfriend, did I…?)


Mr. Man’s was more of a bacon soup with potato…

What You Need:
5 Yukon Gold Potatoes, cubed
1 (10.5 ounce) Can of Vegetable Broth
2 Cups Water
1 Cup Half and Half Cream
2 or 3 Slices of Crumbled, Cooked Bacon
Salt and Pepper

Get Cookin:
In a large pot, combine potatoes and vegetable broth. Add enough water to cover potatoes. Cook potatoes over medium heat, stirring occasionally, until potatoes and tender (about 45 minutes).

Mash potatoes until you have reached a smooth consistency. Stir in cream. Allow the cream to warm and season with salt and pepper to taste. Serve with crumbled bacon pieces or cheddar cheese.

*Sauteed onions (cooked in butter), green onions, a few garlic cloves, or shredded carrots are all great additions to this soup, which my family has made many, many times!

If you prefer using baking potatoes, check out my other favorite tater soup here.

Happy Eating, y’all!

7 Comments

Leave a Reply

