Homemade: Carpet Freshener

I have a slight obsession with anything that is suposed to fill my house with a delicious scent. And slight is probably an understatement. I am constantly refilling plug-ins (which I don’t think really work anyways) and lighting candles and incense. And I won’t even go into how before someone comes over I run around with a spray can of Febreze over my head. Why, yes, my house always smells like this! But the scent never really lasts more than 2 minutes and if it does I can only smell these things with my nostril directly over them, which unfortunately is not something my houseguests will be doing.

But between the boy and the dogs, I feel like that extra boost of fragrance is necessary. I used to buy bottles of the carpet freshener and it always seemed to leave my carpet smelling fresh for nearly a week. I loved it, but my wallet wasn’t quite as thrilled. Plus, my only scent was baby bottom baby powder-ish. I want a fall scent to match my Spiced Pumpkin candles and plug-ins. Why is there no such thing?

*ahem* Now there is, friends. Fellow home fragrance fanatics rejoice! I have found the golden ticket and I’m happy to share it with you…and it’s simple!

Homemade Carpet Freshener:

2 Cups Baking Soda
20-25 Drops of Essential Oil

Just mix the ingredients in a ziplock baggie and shake to make sure the oil doesn’t clump in one spot. Leave the baggie for a day, or until it’s dry. All you need to do is pour the baking soda mixture into an old powder bottle or anything with a shaker lid. If you don’t have that, it’s ok, evenly dispurse the mixture over your carpet with a small spoon. Then vacuum and allow the scent to fill your home!

I used a fall harvest scented oil I got from Etsy and it worked great! If you don’t care about the scent, you can always mix a dry laundry detergent with the baking soda and follow the same instructions.

If you like making homemade fragrance items, check out my homemade cinnamon pinecones!

10 Comments

  1. Tina says:

    I'm a new follower I found ya on Twitter.

    This is a neat little idea I'll have to give it a try. I'm pretty sure my carpet could use some freshening πŸ˜‰

    Like

Leave a Reply

