Eating Clean


I have been eating “clean” for a while now, but I was finding it increasingly difficult to find produce for a reasonable price. I was starting to feel like I was going to have to sell my soul – or my body, if anyone would want it – just to get enough loot for one week’s worth of fruits and veggies. Luckily, we got a competing grocery store close to my parent’s house that has slightly less offensive prices so I can stock up.

The only problem is that their fruit selection is mind-blowing. They have everything from papayas and mangoes to coconuts and dragon fruit. I have made it my mission to try as many fruits and vegetables as possible, and it also helps liven up my diet. I realllly need to get my hands on a dragon fruit and a guava. I’ve had them before, just not fresh. The HUGE papaya (for $2!!!!) I got last week was so good I ate it all in 2 days…oops.

  • Payaya
  • Guava
  • Dragon Fruit
  • Starfruit
  • Lychee
  • Rambutan
  • Yellow Mango
  • Passion fruit
  • Kumquat


My quest for new vegetables is not as appealing to me since I’ve tried most of them. I really just need to get myself to a farmer’s market but I live in the middle of nowhere so it tends to be a little difficult, especially when it comes to convincing the boyfriend to tag along, since he despises all things healthy. I’m serious, I have to disguise vegetables and cut his fruit up into fruit salads just so he will eat it. Don’t get me started!

The funny thing about this whole eating clean deal is that, essentially, it’s what humans should be doing. But thanks to technology, we have all these processed foods that taste so good to steer us away from proper nutrition. Luckily, I love fruits and vegetables. The only problem arises when candy bars and cupcakes cross my path. I think I have only sweet teeth.

What’s your favorite fruit? Is there a fruit you’d like to try?

Stay tuned for a grilled peaches recipe later this week!

12 Comments

  1. Jenna says:

    produce is getting a bit out of hand!! i love papayas and guavas but my favorite is probably a mango. i've never tried a yellow mango! and i'd like to try a dragon fruit too. ❤

    Like

  2. Nicole says:

    That's a nice little exotic fruit list! I have yet to try most of those but I DO love fruits!

    I'd like to try all of those but the passion fruit seems the most appealing to me for whatever reason

    My fave fruit would have to be raspberries and strawberries!

    Like

  3. I love this! A passion of mine is showing the ones I care about what they are actually putting into their bodies when they consume these processed foods. I'm so happy to see this post from you.

    My fav is pineapple!

    Like

  4. Jessi says:

    @Jenna: The yellow mango was realllly good! I love mangoes too. 🙂

    @Nicole: Thanks! I'll let you know when I try a passion fruit.

    @Joyful Sparrow: Thanks! I'm glad I'm not the only one. Pineaaples are really good, I just hate hacking into them….pure lazyness.

    Like

  5. Tiffany says:

    I LOVE yellow mangoes…they seem sweeter than regular ones right? My favorite is probably a tie between peaches and oranges!

    Can't wait to see your grilled peaches recipe! (=

    Like

  6. Eden says:

    LOVE LOVE LOVE MANGOS! It's a joy to eat them freshly picked or when they have just fallen off the mango trees (yes, I have! Delicious!). But you have to be in their native areas for that. And what's more, once you peel the skin you can add it to a boiling pot of rice to add a slightly sweet flavour to the grain. Waste not, want not 🙂

    I am also a huge fan of watermelon. Neither are cheap when you calculate the cost per weight, but they are so bloody delish (especially in warm weather).

    Like

Leave a Reply

