Nail Polish Review: China Glaze Crackle

I was so excited a couple weeks ago when I got my little package of awesomeness containing OPI’s Austin-Tatious Turquoise from their Texas Collection and China Glaze Crackle in Broken Hearted. I am a nail polish addict! Surprisingly, it took me this long to test out the crackle.

I was excited to see how China Glaze’s Crackle held up to OPI’s Black Shatter. I really only liked it over bright colors and white, due to the contrasting effect. After much debate I decided to apply OPI’s IM Beauty as a base color. I used this color last summer on my toes for my birthday (without a base) and my toes were yellow for the rest of the summer giving the appearance of fungus, which is awesome in the summer months when I don’t take flip flops and sandals off. But this time I used Butter London’s Base Coat. This helped immensely, I only needed two coats two achieve a nice, buttercup yellow color.

Now it’s time to test out the China Glaze Crackle in Broken Hearted. It’s a nice dark pink color in the bottle and applies just the same. I learned to use thick strokes from Shatter, and the effect turned out nicely. I actually think I like the bright pink much better than the black. I can’t wait to try it over a light pink color. I gave it five stars and used a top coat and I’m done!


I’ve heard recently that Sally Hansen has come out with their own Crackle line in quite a few colors and OPI released a Silver Shatter with their Pirate’s Of The Caribbean Collection. Are you guys over the Crackle/Shatter faze yet? I think I might be. But then again, I may have to get China Glaze’s Crackle in their teal color before I call it quits…

22 Comments

  1. Audrey says:

    i β™₯ the pink over yellow.
    i will go buy this and copy you now!
    i want the silver shatter too.
    the shatter was probably cooler when it was hard to get. 😦

    Like

  2. Jenna says:

    i love that yellow polish it's so summery! and the pink crackle over it looks so good. that was a good color combo pick. i bet it would look nice over a light pink too!! ❀

    Like

  3. Rissy says:

    Time out… some people are already over crackle?! I haven't even tried it yet! wow I am behind.

    mmmm fungusy looking toes! how lovely

    I think the yellow/pink combo is so cute! Maybe I should go buy some crackle polish before people stop being my friend for being “so last season” ahhh

    CarissaExplainsItAll

    Like

  4. Jessica says:

    I just got the black Shatter after your last review and now I need to try the pink and maybe a couple other colors. Your blog is bad for my budget! πŸ™‚

    I love that color combination – it makes me wish it were warmer here and actually felt like summer…

    Like

  5. Tiffany says:

    oh gosh i've had polish turn my toenails and fingernails colors but yellow has got to be the worst! ew!

    i love the yellow and pink, i'm off to go buy both now! thanks for the inspiration! (=

    Like

  6. Rose says:

    i LOVE the way the pink crackle looks over the yellow. that's one of the best yellows i've seen. i hope i can find it on ebay! πŸ™‚ great review!

    Like

  7. Joan says:

    My daughter is going to LOVE this nail polish! Can't wait to show her this post. Thank you for sharing as well as thank you for commenting at my blog!!!
    Have a super weekend!

    Like

  8. Mo 'Betta says:

    I just saw this for the first time a couple of weeks ago. I didn't care for it then (blue and silver I think – but it was also on a 12 y/o), but I like the pink and yellow! My daughters would love it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

