Bookworm Wednesday?

(Ok, I promise not to ever use that title again…!)
I should be getting outside and enjoying some form of Spring weather, but I awoke to snow-covered grass on Monday and the week’s forecast is looking grim: filled with sleet and less-than-warm temperatures. This is what I get for living in Illinois. Thanks again, Mother Nature.

Needless to say, I’m still stuck reading my books inside listening to the rain on the windowpanes although I’d much rather be lounging on a chair under the sun…I think I’ve got atleast another month before I can do that. My most recent book obsession?

Set in a world of stunningly beautiful, exceptionally dangerous monsters, Fire is one of the most dangerous monsters of all – a human one. Marked out by her vivid red hair, she’s more than attractive. Fire is mesmerising.
But with this extraordinary beauty comes influence and power. People who are susceptible to her appeal will do anything for her attention, and for her affection. They will turn away from their families, their work, and their duties for her. They will forget their responsibilities to please her . . . and worse, crush nations, neglect kingdoms and abuse their power.
Aware of her power, and afraid of it, Fire lives in a corner of the world away from people, and away from temptation. Until the day comes when she is needed – a day when, for her king, she has to take a stand not only against his enemies, but also against herself…

Fire by Kristin Cashore If you haven’t read it: go. get. it. right. NOW! This is Ms. Cashore’s second book, her first I have yet to read. But she’s got a great writing style and her ideas are unlike any others. I’ve lent it to two friends and they absolutely loved it as well. If you’re at all into fantasy books or chivalry you need to add this book to your reading list.

It’s so strange, I hadn’t read a book in quite a few years. I hardly even read the books I was required to in my Honors English classes in high school, but now I have stacks of books randomly placed all over my apartment. I just started The Hunger Games. And it’s all thanks to my Bucket List – my goal being just to finish one book – umpteen books later I’m glad I added it to the list.

Any book suggestions? I’m sure my Spring won’t be here for another month…

Leave a Reply

