They Made That An App?!

Ah, the wonders of technology. I, personally, do not own a smart phone or an iPhone and I could care less about the number in front of the “G”. I highly doubt my phone even has a “G”. Not only can I not justify the massive phone bill but my chubby midget fingers have a hard time pushing just one key on the touch screen at a time. So, when I want to check out at apps that’s what my friends are for.

Luckily for me, my co-worker has the best apps. My new personal favorite? The Period Tracker Lite for the iPhone. Ladies, we all know the infamous question asked by our doctor at the beginning of every visit – “When was the first day of your last period?” Now if you’re anything like me, you pick some date you know is not exactly accurate and your doctor shakes her head and stresses the need for keeping track of these things and you sit on the cold, paper-covered chair wondering why it’s even necessary when you’re there for a cold. Well, with the help of an app, you can easily provide your doctor with an uncanny amount of information about your cycle. At first, I’ll admit, I laughed at the idea of this application because I use this old-fangled contraption called my calender to mark little red dots of when my monthly fun is expected to arrive. However, I always forget and it never quite seems accurate enough. So, this is where this app may actually come in handy. And the best part? You can pick from 8 different skins – from skulls to flowers. Originally I had heard this app was for boyfriends/husbands/boytoys that wanted to track when their girlfriend/wife/girltoy is going to be turning into a raging sack of hormones, but it is indeed much more than that. This app would prove to be most useful to anyone who is trying to get pregnant. And since I have absolutely no desire to do so, this app probably isn’t really for me.

Fertile days are represented by green dots and ovulation day has a pink flower. Period days have various shades of pink triangles, “intimate” days have a heart, and a pink droplet means spotting (nice!). A little black dot means there are notes associated with that day, even if that note is also an icon on the calendar. At the bottom, there is more information about the selected day and tapping here brings up the notes page. Notes have an on/off toggle for “Period Ended” and “Intimate Today” and selections for backaches, bloating, bodyaches, cramps, spotting, headaches, and tender breasts, all of which have 3 levels of severity. Period Tracker has 9 moods, but you can of course type your mood into notes if you feel like none of the choices accurately depict your mood.

After all of my investigating I don’t feel like the app is as useless as I had assumed, but I don’t believe it’s entirely necessary either. It could be fun if you had money to blow and you wanted to remind yourself of all the fun days of bloating and cramps. I prefer to think about it as little as possible.

What will these people come up with next?!

3 Comments

  1. Kody says:

    I've seen these before on my phone/ipod. There are tons of apps for period and ovulation tracking. I still choose to just track it with a red dot on my planner though : )

    Like

Leave a Reply

