Since I Can’t Afford Liposuction…

I guess that means I need to go on a diet. The problem arises when I think back to all of my other diet failures. I’ll be truckin right along for a week munching on my carrot sticks and chicken breasts. And then I get bored…or lazy. And then I have a bad day and never bounce back. So, my solution to this problem? Only allow healthy foods to enter my apartment for now.

I don’t want to be on a fad diet, I want a lifestyle change. I want to get to a weight that is ideal for me (knowing that I can never be stick skinny) and continue to eat healthy. We only get one body.

I definately won’t be trying the Lemonade Diet. Has anyone read their website? I like how in capital letters is says “DO NOT FART…THAT MAY NOT BE ALL THAT COMES OUT…BRING A CHANGE OF SHORTS TO WORK”. I don’t know about you, but I’m not a fan of accidents in public or in the comfort of my home either. Who has time to take off work to sit on the porcelein throne? And with this being said, I won’t be trying any other fad diets. I am not a fan of soiling my pants or fainting. But if you choose to take this route, please shoot me an email with any of the funny stories that arise from it.

This leaves me with the Eat Clean Diet. Now, as I stated above, not a fan of the term “diet”. But the ideas behind this diet really do make sense. In fact, the woman who invented the diet and wrote the books is a genius. Why didn’t I think of it sooner – making money off of telling people they can lose weight from eating the foods we are suposed to? Fruits and vegetables instead of Doritos and soda? Who would’ve thought?!

So, I made my grocery list, largely consisting of fruits, vegetables, and whole wheat products. Now what about my saviors: granola bars and quick snacks? So, yesterday I set off to The Fresh Market. I could spend an hour in that store, even if just to watch the hoity toity housewives in their designer track suits blabbing on their Bluetooths and only buying the most expensive items. Actually, everything is expensive at that little grocery store. I made my way to the granola bars. After reading the labels too many times on bars that are suposed to be healthy but actually aren’t I found my dream granola bars: Bora Bora.

Exotic Cononut Almond? Wild Pomegranate Pecan? Tribal Cinnamon Oatmeal? Even the names sound good. I grabbed a handful and ate one the second I got in the car. Heaven in my mouth! They are organic, all-natural, gluten free, and they taste great. You really can’t ask for more than that! (But if you did there’s also no refined sugar, non-GMO, and they’re kosher.) Thank you, Bora Bora, for solving my healthy granola bar crisis! Now I just need to get my hands on the Volcanic Chocolate Banana bars which they do not carry at my store.

With that crisis averted, I can now snack without feeling bad. What granola bars/protein bars do YOU enjoy? Or any other snack foods you love?

I did not receive any compensation for my review of the Bora Bora bars – I just love them!

12 Comments

  1. Apfel says:

    All the best with your lifestyle change! I started out eating healthy last month too. So far it has been excellent, although I have not lost a lot of lbs I have lost a lot in inches and people have been noticing that. I would suggest that you try something as simple as keeping a food journal. I do not compensate on any of my meals, eat 8 times a day, try to avoid junk and try to work out 3 times a week but mostly I don't. But just being honest to my food journal and putting in everything without cheating alone has changed my eating habits automatically. I go back to the first page of my journal and I am all “whoa!” looking at that page πŸ˜›

    Given that you cook a lot I would also suggest that you try and substitute the foods u love with low fat or more fibrous versions of it. It helps πŸ™‚

    All the best!!!

    Like

  2. “I don't want to be on a fad diet, I want a lifestyle change”

    this is EXACTLY the way one needs to think in order to live a healthy lifestyle. sure, with those fad diets you lose weight…but personally I have *never* known a person who fad dieted and kept the weight they lost off! I'm sure it happens once in a while but not USUALLY.

    I allow myself to splurge a couple times a month but in general I eat very healthy and not only do I feel good, but I feel good about myself. I actually have done two separate lifestyle changes — one in college when I quit eating “fast food” (no McDonald's, Burger King, Wendy's, etc.) and one in early 2007 when I just cut back on my drinking and started eating healthier at home/in general as well. And I've never looked back!

    I do a meme thing on my journal called “Wellness Wednesdays” as well, join in if you want πŸ™‚
    http://aserendipitouslife.blogspot.com

    Like

  3. Stephanie says:

    The book that is my salvation is probably “Food Rules” by Michael Polan. It's basically a list of simple guidelines that help you pick out foods. An example would be “Don't buy foods with more than 5 ingredients” or “Don't buy anything that has ingredients that aren't already in your pantry at home”. There's also a section highlighting how you should go about eating your food, and what habits you should pick up like “Leaving some on the plate for Mr. Manners” and such. Great book. =]

    Like

  4. Eden says:

    Great idea. I actually just got off of trying the vegan diet for a month. While I don't intend to strictly maintain veganism, it has transformed the way I think about my food and as a result I am now careful with what I eat. It has basically been fruit, veg and grains all the way. A lot of my dishes are super flavoursome and home-cooked too. I think a lifestyle change is a great way to think instead of the next few pounds. Keep us updated and good luck with the changes πŸ™‚

    Like

  5. Jessi says:

    Thanks for the ideas and encouragement ladies!

    Apfel: I think I will start a food journal…I was thinking about it, but you sold me on it.

    Tara: I think I will join in your meme! It's nice to know I'm not the only one who has had to resort to a “lifestyle change”. πŸ™‚

    Eden: I used to be a vegetarian but I would not be good at going vegan! I can't believe you did it for a month! That's awesome.

    Like

  6. Yeah I think I'm about to hop back on the healthy boat myself. This whole winter time curled on the couch munchin on snacks cause I'm bored or cold is about to be over.

    It's been difficult eating healthier living back at my mom's though, she can eat and eat chips n cookies n m&m and not gain weight, I look in the pantry and gain a few pounds. It was so much easier back in my own house only allowing myself to buy good things and shop at the local market, plus I felt good about supporting local farmers.

    When the warm weather begins to roll around I vote we go on trips every so often to farmers markets to pick up real fresh foods.

    Like

  7. Hey lady! I couldn't agree more about the fad diets! I too have decided to only allow the good food to enter the shopping cart and my pantry. I wanted to tell you about a website I found called Lose It.com. It's free to sign up. It lets you keep track of the calories you consume and gives you a goal of what you should intake in a day in order to lose weight. I have mine set at a pound a week. And I can eat around 1400 cals a day! Not to shabby. I think it's worth a shot. πŸ™‚ Let me know how you like it. And good luck!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

