Travel Tuesday: My Dream Honeymoon

As I’m sure some of you remember, my boyfriend and I have pretty much already decided we will one day tie the knot. When this one day might be, we have no idea. But still being stuck in my cabin fever stuper, I’ve been enjoying torturing myself daydreaming of my dream vacation destinations. You may have noticed a theme with me, I tend to gravitate towards warm, beach vacations with clear waters and white sand. So, basically, the exact opposite of what I’m surrounded by every day.

It’s 80 and sunny on Paradise Island today. Here in Chicagoland it’s 23 and gray. So, why Paradise Island you ask? Well, you see, when I think of the perfect honeymoon what comes to my mind is a once in a lifetime trip. One filled with good food, great scenery, and unforgettable experiences. This could be many places, but I love beaches and my boyfriend…well, doesn’t. But he does love waterparks and things to keep him from just baking in the sun. So, the perfect getaway for us will be – drum roll please – The Atlantis Resort.

Let me explain why. I would be perfectly content enjoying sipping on an umbrella drink, attempting to tan on any beach. My only criteria used to be somewhere where I could jump off a mini cliff into the ocean. My boyfriend, on the other hand, needs things to do so he’s not just laying on a sweaty towel all day. (This is probably good for me because he tans much better than I do!) My original point being, at the Atlantis we can do all of that.

At their hotel they have everything from a waterpark complete with water slides and a lazy river to swimming with dolphins and huge aquariums. So what’s on my dream agenda? Beach, pool, alcoholic beverage, water slide through the shark tank, swim with dolphins, kiss a sea lion, and feed some nurse sharks…then repeat alcohol, pool, beach, waterpark. What’s not to love?

So, until that day when I slide a ring around my finger, I will be frequenting the Atlantis website oogling their sunny pictures and pretending I’m there.

Where would you go on your dream vacation? And what would you do?

i’m in no way affiliated with the Atlantis Resort, image via Getty

Relax and Make Friends Blog Hop

11 Comments

  1. When I was in the Bahamas for a cruise, we saw the Atlantis Resort and it's HUGE! I think it would be a nice place to go. Our Honeymoon was to New Zealand and it WAS a once in a lifetime kind of trip (although I'd love to go back). My next big, once in a lifetime trip, is to Scandanavia to stay in an Ice Hotel, see the Northern Lights, and go to Lapland to visit Santa Claus.

    Like

  2. Erin Wallace says:

    I went on a cruise to the Bahamas for my honeymoon. In Ohio, it was 10 degrees or so (in December) and there it was in the 80s, no humidity, beautiful blue waters – paradise!

    Here from Blog it Forward Tuesdays – am your newest follower. Hope to see you at Dropped Stitches.

    Like

  3. lindsay says:

    i have always wanted to visit the atlantis resort. my hubs and i went to cozumel for our honeymoon and it was fabulous! where in the chicago area do you live friend? that is where i am from 🙂

    hope you're having a wonderful day! xox

    Like

  4. Apfel says:

    Wow, I have always wanted to swim with the Dolphins. I was quite close to getting an opportunity in Canada but then I fell short on time! Ugh… I loved this resort, looks like it could go on my List too 🙂 I have a recent obsession with all of Europe. I so wanna go backpacking! Hopefully soon 🙂 You have a beautiful looking blog!!

    Like

  5. greenTXmom says:

    My husband and I didn't have a honeymoon and I have many, many places I would love to go. There's the family route; Disney (I've never been), all inclusive family resorts, etc. But then there's the indulgent places I MUST see someday: top of the list Italy. 🙂
    Cute, cute blog. I'm following from the Blog it Fwd. Tuesday 🙂 http://southernfriedgreenmom.blogspot.com/ I would love for you to follow back. 🙂

    Like

  6. I used to want to go to the Atlantis resort SO badly! But we went on a Disney cruise to the Bahamas earlier this year and although there's tons to do at the resort, there's nothing much all that great on the island and I'm the type of person that wants some culture, some history, etc. when I travel. I recently posted my bucket lists on my travel blog and there are so many “dream places” that I want to visit…but tops on the lists is always Israel 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

