Travel Tuesday: Back From The Dells

I hope everyone enjoyed their Valentine’s Day. (Anti-Valentine’s Day?) We did! Although, we forgot it was even Valentine’s Day until noon while floating our way down a lazy river in innertubes.

We stayed at the Kalahari indoor waterpark resort and I must say, it was a really good time. We drove up to Wisconsin Dells, which is only a couple hours from us. And I’m sure none of you have ever heard of the Dells. It appears to be only well known by those us of in Illinois, Wisconsin, and Michigan. It’s just a little town that’s basically closed during the winter, we saw A LOT of signs that said “see you in the spring”.

We were comepletely surprised that there were so many people there. We left early figuring our room would be ready, a waterpark town would surely be slow in February. Wrong. So, that left us with a couple of hours to kill. We drove through the town and browsed in a few shops. But we’re foodies, so when we saw The Moose Jaw Pizza and Brewery we quickly agreed to stop. And I’m glad we did. We ordered a sample of their beers. (I can proudly add 6 more to my list of 100…still a ways to go) They brought the samples out in little mini glasses served on a wood platter. My favorite was the Sweet Cherry Ale. So good!

Our room was amazing, it was bigger than our apartment (which made us feel great…not)! The hottub and the fireplace were a nice touch – though I will admit we didn’t really use them since running up and down the stairs to go on all the waterslides 5453 times exhausted us. The highlight of the first day was a tie between the amazing pizza and getting our picture taken with a tiger cub. The little guy was so cute! They were pretty mouthy, so the handlers fed him a bottle so we could pet him and gawk at the size of his paws. Now we can add a tiger to our list. (we took a picture with a lion cub in Vegas, penguins at the Shedd, and I have pictures from my dolphin encounter) I’ll upload those pictures as soon as I can get them scanned.


Mr. Man sampling the beer


microbrews showcased in their neat tray


me being touristy (no make-up ahhhh!)


best pizza evvver!


the kitchen in our room we didn’t use


another boring room picture


I really wish we had a king sized bed!


our only picture together before hitting the waterpark


doesn’t he look manly?


my hair looked great after the waterpark…


I love zebras!


Mr.Man’s “loaded” cookie from the Kalahari…so good!


key lime tart…equally fabulous

My single regret from this trip was not being able to take more pictures, but my camera is not waterproof and I didn’t want it getting stolen while splashing around. All in all, a good trip for our Valentine’s Day/ 3 year anniversary.

13 Comments

  1. Yay! I know you had been looking forward to this trip for awhile, so I'm glad it went so well. Yeah, I hate going into hotel rooms that are larger than my house=depressed.

    I've heard of Wisconsin Dells through Bert the Conquerer and have to go one day for the waterslide that shoots you through a full loop/you go upside down!

    Like

  2. Jessi says:

    Ooh Jess I want to try that slide too! That sounds like fun.

    Julie – he was super embarassed that he liked the coladas there, but there were undeniably good! And we will be craving loaded cookies and beer for a long time.

    Like

  3. what an awesome room!

    I've never been to Wisconsin but I HAVE heard of the Dells šŸ™‚

    If you liked a beer called Sweet Cherry Ale you should try to find Sam Adams Cherry Wheat in your area. It's one of my favorites šŸ™‚

    Like

  4. What an awesome trip and the room looks fabulous! So funny, I'm actually from a city in Canada called MJ. Mac the Moose is our city statue/tourist attraction, along with a few other great touristy things like hidden tunnels, etc. šŸ™‚

    Like

  5. Jessi says:

    Tara: I'm glad you've heard of the dells, it really is a cute little summer town. And the Dells themselves are beautiful. I also have tried the Cherry Wheat beer…one of my favorites! šŸ™‚

    TLP: That is so neat! I would love to see a moose in the wild just once, but not in close proximity. A hidden tunnel? That sounds intriguing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

