Resolution Schmesolution

I am a little bit behind the time here, but bare with me.

New Year’s Eve I partied downtown Chicago with the Bears players I did nothing. Mr. Man was really sick. I was feeling lazy. And out puppies didn’t want to ring in the New Year home alone, or so we told ourselves. So I parked it in front of the computer, kind of sad yet another year had gone past. Time really does fly.

So, driving to work a few days later all of the radio DJ’s were still talking about New Year’s resolutions, much to my dismay. I don’t think I’ve ever made a resolution. Perhaps, I may always say to myself, this year I will lose weight…but 3 days later I’ve had a crappy day at work and I’m stuffing my face with cupcakes and Snickers bars. Oops.

Almost everyone I know has almost same resolution: lose weight, go on a diet, be healthy, yadayadayada. (Yes, America, this is what it’s come down to, thanks McDonalds!)

I toyed with the idea of making a resolution for the first time and making sure to follow through with it. However, I tend to be one of those over-achievers that just don’t make goals so I can’t ever fail. I’m patting myself on the back right now. šŸ™‚

But this year, I decided to have a fool-proof resolution: make memories this year. I’m going to try to overlook our financial woes and step outside the box and have a great year. Whether this means finishing my list or creating a new one, I don’t know yet. But I guess we’ll just find out.

Do YOU make a resolution? And if you did, share it with me! I’m curious.

7 Comments

  1. Alison says:

    I really like your “resolution”. I never make one either. I rather just set goals for myself, it feels less stressful than going drastic. For instance: my motto for this year is “simplify”.

    Like

  2. I don't think I've ever made a New Year's resolution to lose weight. Ever. I've made resolutions in the past (though I decided years ago to quit doing so) but my weight loss has always come with/for a different reason.

    Like

  3. Casey says:

    This is the first time I'm not making them. I got sick of reading back on my previous year's resolutions and realizing how I'd fallen short. This time around, I'm kind of just operating under a “be a better me” umbrella principle. We'll see how it goes… Good luck!

    http://www.poodleism.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

