To List Or Not To List?

{Disclaimer: Cold, snowy winter weather gives me far too much time stuck inside thinking.}

I could probably rattle off a thousand things that I would like to be given the chance to do before I die. My lists changes daily, it changes with the seasons, and it changes as I grow as a person. But one thing remains the same: I want adventures. I want stories to tell and I want to be considered an interesting, worldly individual to some magnitude. Right now, I can safely say that I am not.

After meeting a new friend at work who is a fellow Bucket-lister, although she’ll tell you that she doesn’t believe in lists, she believes in crosses things off after doing them – I began toying with that idea. I found that to be an interesting way of doing it (in reverse if you will) and I can appreciate the less stressful approach. I, having my list-writing OCD thanks to my dad, will always at the very least jot down my dreams/goals/ideas.

However, nearing the end of my 6 month deadline for my 100 [small] things to accomplish, I’m realizing I feel like I have not accmplished nearly enough, although I have accomplished many new things. I’m looking at the glass half empty. This past year I swam with dolphins and tried new foods, I began learning how to enjoy the little things. I forced myself to look outside the box and try to go to movies less and explore more. And I will continue to do so.

I just may be coming up with a new plan of attack. It would really just be much easier to have my own show on the Travel channel….hey, Travel Channel, what do you think?

p.s. I’d love to hear about any adventures you all have had.

And in the end, it’s not the years in your life that count. It’s the life in your years. ~Abraham Lincoln

Check out Wordish Wednesday today and make some new bloggy buddies!

6 Comments

  1. Jessica says:

    I always find that if I can make really small goals, and then complete them, it makes me feel accomplished. So pick something small on your list that you could easily do; just doing it will make you feel better and re-energized about the whole list. Or try to break a large goal down into parts and at least do PART of the goal.

    Like

  2. Moon says:

    I sometimes feel that time is flying by and I don't spend enough of it enjoying my life. I'm really jealous of your bucket list and maybe I should try it too. I think it's a great way of forcing yourself to do something you normally wouldn't do. It's like sitting cosy on the coach and not getting out the door, while you know you would have a much better time going out.

    Me being crazy day to day is: trying a wacky recipe, but not much more.
    But me being crazy everyday is also: getting married, buying a house, saving to wander the US for a month and trying to have a baby.

    Keep up. I would love a show on the cooking channel, but hey, first things first 😉

    Like

  3. Jessi says:

    Thanks Moon! Trying a “wacky” recipe is different and it expands your culinary horizons. That counts!

    You're trying to have a baby? That's awesome! And so is wandering the US for a month. 🙂

    Like

  4. What a great idea! I loved reading all that you hope to do, and I'm a list maker too…yet always changing and rearranging as I grow through life! Thank you so much for stopping by my blog, for your sweet comment, following and planning to donate to Charity: Water! 🙂 You have a lovely blog yourself!

    Liesl 🙂

    Like

  5. You know, reading this post I realize that you and I are very similar-I want adventure in my life as well. I want LOTS of it. I think being sick and restricted for the last 7 years has put a lot into perspective and I know for sure that being in one place doing one thing just isn't for me-At least not until later on in life {maybe even not then!}.

    I am also a compulsive list maker. LOL Although, honestly, I don't think it's a bad thing-It helps put my mind at ease instead of having a million things running around in there at the same time.

    I do wish that I could do more with life right now, but unfortunately I have to make due with what I'm given. This year up until the end of August was the best year of my life though! I was able to be a part of Oprah's audience in March, I FINALLY started college and now I have 9 whole credits, I won a trip to New York…That was my BIGGEST adventure yet because it was my first trip by my self.

    I think just continue what you're doing and you'll find that opportunities will present themselves to you-I know that's what has happened for me 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

