Happy Birthday Mom!


those are the slippers I got my mom!
Saturday was my mother’s birthday. Since, presents are left up to my me, my dad, and my brother I pretty much take it upon myself to coordinate everything. (Or else she’s be making her own damn birthday cake and there would be no presents that she didn’t pick out for herself!)

I’d been wanting to take my mom out to dinner for a long time – and pay for it. My parents are always buying, even when my boyfriend is with us. Just doesn’t seem right. And lately I’ve been feeling pretty guilty for how much they do help us out. I’m not sure where I’d be without them. So this was one little day to give back.

I took my mom to Cooper’s Hawk Winery. I hadn’t been there yet but I’d heard rave reviews and my friends kept saying they have the best sangria. I wanted to be the judge of that. And since my mother enjoys her wine, who better to go with?The restaurant was nicely decorated with decanters, huge wine bottle racks, wine casks, and candles.

We ordered a whole pitcher of raspberry sangria and enjoyed our dinner without worrying about the calories! SO good. And the best part is that I’m pretty sure my mom enjoyed it. It was nice to eat dinner with just her, without having all the boys around. So this is a successful cross off the old list.

The only downside was not realizing that the best way to visit that place is to sample a few wines in the tasting room before dinner, then again after dinner. We still tried both holiday wines though. Very good! Can’t wait to drink their holiday white for Christmas!

3 Comments

  1. Eden says:

    Aw, sounds like a sweet day. Sometimes it's just nice to have a small party of two 🙂

    I love the photo, you two look great and like you're both having fun. The booties are cute!

    Happy late birthday to your mum too! Glad you crossed another thing of the list and enjoyed yourselves in the process 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

