When Everything Feels Wrong

Yeah, this one works much better…although I could also go for a cupcake…

I finally watched Eat Pray Love last night. Eh. I love the whole idea of it. The notion of letting go of everything you know to learn how to better yourself, and perhaps just learn about who you really are. But who’s got those kind of funds to say F it, pack up, and leave for a year? Wish I did.

For those of us not trapped in a fairytale movie, what do YOU do to make yourself see more clearly? How do you calm down when you want to cry and curl up into a fetal position?

I would love to know the answer. I try to write in a journal, but at times it feels like recalling everything going wrong seems to just make it worse. And much like in Eat Pray Love, I can’t get my mind to stop thinking. Meditating seems so silly. (I’m not knocking it, I just can’t get my brain to shut up!)

Maybe I need a big, fat, happy Buddha statue to rub. Or maybe I need a treadmill so I can feel like I’m running away.

Or maybe I just need to learn how to stop being so affected by the little worries of life. Gotta look at the BIG picture!

I hope everyone is having a happy Monday!

Do not take life too seriously. You will never get out of it alive. ~Elbert Hubbard

7 Comments

  1. Jessica says:

    I spend time with myself. I go shopping (or window shopping), eat lunch at my favorite place by myself, read a book, go to a movie, etc. all by myself. Those days really rejuvinate me and put me in the greatest mood. Of course, I'm a loner and prefer to be by myself, so this probably wouldn't work for everyone.

    Like

  2. Shawn Becker says:

    I think you are asking the same questions that I have been asking for years!!! The world of blogging has been a big help, I run (slow jog), try not to focus on the small stuff (easier said than done)..have a glass of wine!!??
    I am 59 and still do not know the answers so I think I will follow you and maybe you will come up with the answer! LOL
    Have a great day!
    Shawn

    Like

  3. Eden says:

    You're not alone. I go through these periods too. Very up and down. Sometimes the best thing is to just ride out those feelings. But when you can't/won't/don't want to there are little ways to help:

    1. Going out and listening to someone else. A complete stranger, even. I know this sounds crazy, but it sometimes gives you something else to focus on and often makes you realise things could be worse. They might buy you a free drink too πŸ™‚

    2. Go out far away and S C R E A M!! Do it like a madwoman! I'm fond of park benches and acting like a hobo when I'm in such a mood. Yes, I can be perceived as a little odd sometimes but that can be good because then you have licence to just act a little nuts and let off some steam.

    4. Go to the gym. Endorphins, and all that (sometimes sex or a good old DIY fiddle too:-)).

    5. Meditation can work. I know you say it sounds silly, but try it. I can recommend the Meditation Podcast. It has calmed me right down when I've felt like spazzing out.

    6. Friends/counsellor/doctor. Sometimes, it's just good to have an ear who'll listen without saying anything back.

    Just a few things I hope will help. I don't know the extent to which you are feeling down but I'm thinking of you doll. Don't forget there are people who will listen and that doesn't cost a thing! xx

    Like

  4. Moon says:

    I blog about it, that really helps πŸ™‚ But sometimes on the job I really feel like breaking down; I just have to talk to myself (sometimes out loud in the bathroom πŸ™‚ ) I also love coming home, snuggling in the couch and watching tv-series. Might not be healthy, but it takes me to another world when I don't want to be in mine.

    Hope you feel better soon πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

