Shiver Review

It’s official. Mother Nature is screwing with us here in Illinois. Last week I needed a heavy hoodie in the morning, today I need a tank top. It literally went from 34 to 82 degrees. How the heck is a girl suposed to know what to wear when the weather changes so drastically? I get ready for Fall then Summer comes right back. I guess I’ll take it over the winter cold any day.

It just doesn’t feel right pumpkin picking when it’s 80, atleast not where I live. So that leaves me wondering what I should do this weekend. I only have a few months left to finish my first Bucket List and move on to my next one. Curveball.

Book Review – Shiver


Source

I just finished reading Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater. The story is about Grace, a teenage girl, who lives in Minnesota. She’s been watching the wolves in her backyard for years. She bonds with one wolf in particular, the one with the yellow eyes. The story takes off from there. Grace meets Sam, and the story alternates from both of their perspectives. Their difficult relationship revolves around Sam and his humanity.

I have a rather mixed review. I started it immediately after finishing the Twilight saga. In hingsight, that was a mistake. I’d had my fill of ridiculous teenage love stories after those books…for now. But I jumped right into another one. I, personally, felt that Shiver started off very slow and it seemed ridiculous to me how quickly the two main characters became inseparable. (Who does that? You would just seem stalkeresque!) There was no build up, really. But after the 150th freakin page, it started to pick up to the point where I was no longer wanting to pull my eyelashes out while reading it. I actually enjoyed the last half. Maybe because there was more action. I was debating whether or not to continue on to her next book, but I think I will, just not right away. All in all, 3 stars.

I love my mom every day, but especially today. I love OPI and I love getting fun colors. She bought me the OPI “What’s With The Cattitude?” from the Shrek line. I could not find it anywhere in stores! And I love it, it’s icy blue and just a fun color. It actually reminds me of the color of Alice’s dress from Alice in Wonderland. Now if I could just get my hands on the “Rumple’s Wiggin” (lilac)…

6 Comments

  1. I cant read your review because I have it sitting on my shelf right now bitch!!!!

    And I'm so easily mind fucked… if you say its good, Ill expect it to rock my world then be disappointed that is just okay…

    If you say it sucks… I'll go in thinking… WHY am I wasting my fucking time and not enjoy it regardless if I like it or not bc I'd be waiting for it to START sucking!

    Like

  2. Hi I am Nicole from ColiesKitchen.com I found you on a blog hop and wanted to drop by and say hi. I really like your blog, and am now a new follower. I would love to have you stop by Colie’s Kitchen if you get a chance.

    Like

  3. Rebecca says:

    Hi just found you on the weekend blog hop! I'm now following your blog! Love the nail polish, think I'd like The Rumple's Wiggin' I'm a purple girl!
    I have several blogs all needing some attention LOL, I get caught up in reading so many of them and run out of time to update my own!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

