The Apples and The Bees


Yes, my friends, these are goats hanging out on a bridge 50ft in the air.

As planned, yesterday Boyfriend, my parents, and I hauled our butts up to Wisconsin to visit the Apple Holler. It’s a HUGE apple orchard with a restaurant and a super cute “general store”.

The weather was perfect, it turned out being around 80, so I even got some sun. No complaints. However, next time no matter how warm it is, I will not wear my beloved flip fops. There was far too many bees and fallen apples around my exposed toes. I hadn’t been apple picking in a loooong time therefore I guess I forgot the basics.

We started out grabbing breakfast. I don’t even like bacon but holy crap! their bacon from the applewood grill was way too delicious. I got all-you-can-eat apple pancakes for $5…what more can you ask for?! (Bacon, I guess…) However, I couldn’t even finish one plate but I wanted to, they were so good and topped with real whipped cream. That’s the perfect way to start a warm September day.

After we all ate entirely too much we purchased our bags and headed into the orchard. How many types of apples are there?! Geez, I think we picked 6 different types – and tasted them as we went. Once I brought them home I couldn’t remember which ones were which but they’re good, that’s all I care about. It was more work than I remembered, but it was a fun day.

#51. Go Apple Picking – DONE (and will be doin it again next year!)

On our way out I couldn’t help but spend a little bit too much money at their store. Their Apple Butter is perfect, if you’re an apple butter kind of person. Apparently, you either love it or hate it. Got Boyfriend a caramel apple with mini M&M’s…what a genious idea. And I couldn’t help but give apple wine a second try. I purchased a bottle of Hallowine from the Door County Winery. You’re suposed to serve it warm. I’m slightly nervous. I’ll let you know how it works out this time.

The day was a success, anyone in the WI/IL area should check out the Apple Holler and order some Door County Wine!

And the best thing to do with fresh-picked apples – make apple pie!

Set aside about an hour and a half to make this pefect pie…

Ingredients:
1 recipe pastry for a 9 inch double crust pie
1/2 cup unsalted butter
3 tablespoons all-purpose flour
1/4 cup water
1/2 cup white sugar
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
Nutmeg and cinnamon as desired
8 Granny Smith apples – peeled, cored and sliced

Directions:
Preheat oven to 425 degrees F. Melt the butter in a saucepan. Stir in flour to form a paste. Add water, white sugar and brown sugar (nutmeg and cinnamon as desired), and bring to a boil. Reduce temperature and let simmer. Place the bottom crust in your pan. Fill with apples, mounded slightly. Cover with a lattice work of crust. Gently pour the sugar and butter liquid over the crust. Pour slowly so that it does not run off. Bake 15 minutes in the preheated oven. Reduce the temperature to 350 degrees F. Continue baking for 35 to 45 minutes, until apples are soft. Let cool and top with fresh apples and whipped cream!

That’s all I have for now…time to plan a romantic 23rd birtday for Boyfriend…wish me luck, I really need it!

4 Comments

  1. Aimee says:

    Yay for Apple picking. I havent been in YEARS!! There is a place here in southern CA that is pretty awesome (it is called Oak Glenn).Looks like you all had a great time

    Like

  2. Visiting an apple orchard is on my must do list for fall! Love it!

    Mm… that caramel apple looks delightful too!

    Yay! Thanks so much for stopping by the [Life of Meg] Mingle Monday bloghop! So happy to see you there! 🙂

    Have a MEGnificent week!

    Like

Leave a Reply

