Ms. Romantic

I’ve never, ever, ever been a hopeless romantic, and I don’t plan on starting now. Sure, I dream about a man sweeping me off my feet and laying me down in a bed covered in rose petals and whispering sweet nothings into my ear. Occasionally. But mostly when I realize my boyfriend will probably never do anything romantic – the grass is always greener on the other side syndrome. And if he did I may just have a heart attack and die on the spot. Though, this is how our relationship has always been and it seems to work for us. However, after a couple years of living together I tend to find myself asking where the excitement went…yet we’re still in our early 20s. This seems like a bad sign.

So, here I go. I’m going to try to romance my man. Wish me luck!

I had no idea where to begin so I began searching “romantic ideas”, thinking I can turn something into my own pretty easily once I channel my Rico Suave-esque juices flowing.

Thanks to the good ‘ole internet I had a lightbulb moment. Since going on vacation together won’t be happening soon enough, I’ll try to bring a vacation to him. I’m thinking Hawaii.

I’m envisioning decorating our apartment with inflatable palm trees, fruity candles, and whatever else I can get my hands on that will make us feel like we’re by a beach somewhere nicer than Illinois just short of dumping sand all over the place. Even my dogs can wear leis! I’m having a hard time (so far!) finding a good party store that carries everything I need. But, if I can get past that I think this can turn out alright. I am trying to go for a little more romantic than giant parrot cut-outs, but we’ll see. Think floating plumeria candles and Jimmy Buffet?!

Next up, finding some good Hawaiian-ish recipes and a good fruity drink.

Wish me luck, I think I may need it.

3 Comments

  1. Eden says:

    That all sounds lush! Your boyfriend has a treat in store for him! I'd be stoked if a partner did something like that for me, sounds like bunches of fun 🙂

    But good luck getting it all sorted out, I think it's always a good thing making an effort for romance. You definitely get to reap the benefits afterwards. I'm sure your partner will appreciate it 🙂

    Like

  2. Julie Martin says:

    you're freaking adorable! i love that idea! you should check out the oriental trading place — they always have lots of (cheap) tropical stuff 🙂 it's so important to keep the spark in a relationship…especially when you've been together for so long…your b/f will be so excited and appreciative!

    Like

Leave a Reply

