Am I Doing This Right?!

#96. TRY Yoga.

Trrry. That’s all I’ve done for the pass 20 minutes so I won’t be crossing this off my list just yet.

I figured I’d start at the very beginning. What the hell is yoga? I’ve always thought it was for the nutjobs that drink soy lattes and only eat organic vegetables that can’t handle the stress of normal life so this is their time to take a breather. Apparently others get into it as well. Including myself…?

From what I’ve gathered, the word yoga means “union” in Sanskrit, the language of ancient India where yoga originated. We can think of the union occurring between the mind, body and spirit. Yoga refers to traditional physical and mental disciplines originating in India and what is commonly referred to as “yoga” can be more accurately described by the Sanskrit word asana, which refers to the practice of physical postures or poses.
Asana is only one of the eight “limbs” of yoga, the majority of which are more concerned with mental and spiritual well being than physical activity.

There’s a whole lot more to yoga than I had thought. I decided to figure out what type of yoga is best for me (assuming there is one)…I picked mellow aka Hatha.

Now, I don’t plan on being a hardcore yoga-er, or atleast, I don’t think I do so far. I just want to see what the hypes about. Jennifer Aniston swears by it and hey! we’ve all seen how good she looks. A body like that?! Yes please!

I made sure no one was around to witness me on all fours with my ass in the air and I found a YouTube video for Hatha Beginners. Sounds easy enough…

And 10 minutes later…Am I doing this right?! I’m not sure if I chose the best video in the world but that Yogatic lady got the general idea across. I kind of felt like I was doing warm ups in high school gym class again but it actually felt good to stretch. Not going to lie I did the video twice. Maybe yoga isn’t just for the tofu-eating kind. I am willing to bet the more intricate poses you do the more muscles you work thus fat-burning. I’m beginning to see the light.

I won’t pass any judgements until I test it out a few more times.

Leave a Reply

